Lenten Reflection Week 5: John 19:28


a word on The Word

After this, aware that everything was now finished, in order that the scripture might be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I thirst .

This has been mentioned as fulfilled prophesy from Psalm 22:16 and/or Psalm 69:22. Jesus’ physical thirst is described vividly in 22:16, “As dry as a potsherd [a pottery fragment or a piece of sun-baked clay] is my throat; my tongue sticks to my palate;…”

As I pondered this for our fifth week of Lenten reflections, I thought about this thirst. Is it with this kind of thirst that Jesus commands us to ” hunger and thirst for righteousness” (Matt. 5:6)? I believe it is.

I also thought back to earlier in John’s gospel when he quoted Jesus, “Let anyone who thirsts come to Me and drink..” (John 7:37) and that lead me to the Revelation of John, in which he writes of what one of the…

View original post 524 more words

Leave a Reply

