The Magnificat: Mary Praises God


And Mary said: “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; my spirit rejoices in God my savior. For He has look upon His handmaids lowliness; behold, from now on will all generations call me blessed. The Mighty One has done great things for me, and holy is His name. His mercy is from age to age to those who fear Him. He has shown might with His arm, dispersed the arrogant of mind and heart. He has thrown down the rulers from their thrones but lifted up the lowly. The hungry He has filled with good things; the rich He has sent away empty. He has helped Israel His servant, remembering His mercy, according to His promise to our fathers, to Abraham and to his descendants forever.” Mary remained with her [Elizabeth] about three months and then returned to her home.   Luke 1:46-56 

I include Mary’s song here for a simple reason. For us to see her humility. She knew exactly who she was before God. She magnifies (proclaims) the Lord’s greatness, rejoicing in God as her Savior. How He’s done great things for her. His mercy, His might, dispersing the arrogant. Throwing down rulers, lifting up the lowly, filling the hungry and sending the rich away empty. And lastly; remembering His promises.

She does say something interesting toward the beginning though; behold, from now on will all generations call me blessed.

When and why did we stop honoring this part of scripture? Isn’t this the infallible, inerrant Word of God? Yet we treat (at least I used to) this part, like it doesn’t exist.

The Jews referred to Abraham as their father and Jesus didn’t say, “You can’t say that, you can’t honor Abraham in that way, that’s idolatry!” What He actually said was, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works of Abraham.” (John 8:39)

If we are God’s children, shouldn’t we be doing God’s work? Doing the work of Jesus? How many times have I copped out on that by saying, “Well, I ain’t Jesus.” Because we know that even though Jesus was man, He was God,too. But Mary, she was all human, and submitted perfectly to the will of God, from the beginning.

Go to Jesus in prayer and ask Him yourself how to honor His mother, our mother. That’s what I did.

One Response

  1. Hello Tim,

    You’ve been tagged by Me!

    It’s been a while since I left you a note.
    I have been tagged by Selena and now I am
    Tagging you with this Meme thing.

    Think of it as a friendly hello. I tagged you because I like your blog and your loving attitude. You might even find some inspiration at my blog, if you stay away from the Obama stuff.

    The four requirements for this meme thing are:
    1. Write the title to your memoir using 6 words (This can be confusing jump over to meme thing for clarification)
    2. Post it on your blog.
    3. Link to the person that tagged you.
    4. Tag five more blogs

    My Memoir is, “I stumble Daily, He Supplies Eternally”
    This is kind of fun and a way to change our daily routine.
    Thanks for being a good sport.

    Come over and check out the “Meme Thing” and I, Meme Mine” at my blog.

    Also, do you know of Derwin Gray an evangelist pastor and ex NFL guy. I went to a Men’s Retreat where he was the preacher; God’s presence was awesome. I have a post on Derwin and the retreat titled “God and Men”

Leave a Reply

