Lenten Reflection Week 7: Luke 23:46


Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit”; and when he had said this he breathed his last.

Well, it’s finally here – the last week of Lent. The weeks of sacrifice, prayer, almsgiving and service have all lead us to this point; ready to celebrate our risen Lord. But before we move on, we have one last reflection. Jesus’ very last words, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit”.

By His words here, Jesus shows us He dies just as He lived – committing Himself to all His Father had for Him to do.

So this week, let us reflect on our lives. Are we committed to God in this same way? Does whatever we do, first and foremost, glorify God? Please, let us think deeply on this. This isn’t a subject to be taken lightly or just passed over. It is of utmost urgency!

Have you ever had this question run through your mind, “What’s wrong with the church today?” I would guess most everyone has and here on the inter-net, it gets asked thousands of times a day. So first let us recognize that yes, something is wrong with the church……and that something is me. In other words, “remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye. ” (Matt. 7:5)

If you asked everyone in your church the question, What’s wrong with the church today, (specifically) you would get a different answer from each on how to fix it. Why? Because we were made for relationship! If we were to live a life glorifying God and living out the gospel of Jesus Christ doing what the Bible says to do, there wouldn’t be anything wrong with the church today. So something is missing….it’s my commitment to you!

So maybe we’re asking the wrong question. Maybe we should be asking, “What is wrong with me today?” Why am I not loving you as I love myself? Why haven’t I visited you when you were sick? or in prison? Have I helped you bear your burdens? Did I clothe you, feed you, shelter you in your time of need? Did I encourage you when you were discouraged? When you were down did I lift you up?

How can I blame on the “church” what I myself am unwilling to do?! The church is the Body of Christ and should be working together to build one another up – not just in the spiritual sense but in the everyday practical sense. Isn’t that what Jesus Himself did? Isn’t that what He calls us to do, meet people where they are at? Showing love, grace and mercy? Of course it is! So how committed to God are we? Answer truthfully.  Are we willing to commit ourselves to God the way Jesus was willing to? Are we willing to commit ourselves to each other as Jesus did?

Until we can honestly answer those questions with a yes, we will continue to ask the wrong question, “What’s wrong with the church today?

So in this last week of Lent, reflecting on Jesus’ words, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit,” let us entrust not only our spirits to God the Father, but our earthly lives as well. Just like “His only begotten Son” did two thousand years ago, let us as adopted sons and daughters, continue in the way of our Brother and our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be praise forever, amen.

Father, I abandon myself into Your hands; do with me what You will. Whatever You may do, I thank You: I am ready for all, I accept all. Let only Your will be done in me, and in all Your creatures – I wish no more than this, O Lord. Into Your hands I commend my soul; I offer it to You with all the love of my heart, for I love You, Lord, and so need to give myself, to surrender myself into Your hands without reserve, and with boundless confidence, for You are my Father.       Charles de Foucauld

Amen.

3 Responses

  1. Nice post Tim.

    It is important for Christians to self-evaluate, to always reflect on the effectiveness of his or her life. You ask the right questions when you say, “So this week, let us reflect on our lives. Are we committed to God in this same way? Does whatever we do, first and foremost, glorify God?”

    I sometimes wonder about my own effectiveness and whether what I do is glorifying the Lord. In the end, we have to take these questions to the Lord in prayer, and let Him guide us where He wants us to go.

    God Bless

  2. Hey peak9, I often wonder about my own effectiveness and whether what I do is glorifying the Lord! 🙂

    We just need to keep on keeping on, and as you said, let the Spirit lead and guide us.

    Blessings to you as well!

  3. Wow… great post! I’m going to have to mull this one over for a while.

Leave a Reply

