5 Finger Prayer


Here is a simple way, to help you pray, more effectively, everyday!

  1. Our thumb is nearest to us. So begin your prayers by praying for those closest to you. They are the easiest to remember.
  2. Our next finger is our pointer. Pray for those who teach, instruct and heal. This includes teachers, doctors and ministers. They need support and wisdom in pointing others in the right direction.
  3. The next finger is the middle which is also the tallest. Let it remind us to pray for our leaders. For our president, governor and mayor. Leaders in business and industry and administrators. These people shape our nation and guide public opinion. They need God’s guidance.
  4. The fourth finger is our ring finger. Surprising to many is the fact, that it is our weakest finger; as any piano teacher will testify. Let this remind us to pray for those who are weak, in trouble or in pain. They need our prayers day and night. We can never pray too much for them!
  5. Lastly comes our little finger; the smallest of all. This is where we should place ourselves in relation to God and to others. So, our pinkie should remind us to pray for ourselves. By the time we have prayed for the other four groups, our own needs will be put into proper perspective and we will be able to pray for ourselves more effectively.

Thank you Father Ken Gehling, for sharing this with us!

14 Responses

  1. I like this. Easy to remember and makes sense.

  2. Or you can always do the A.C.T.S. to pray….

    I speak about it here:

  3. I used to teach this to our 7th grade Confirmation classes. It’s easy and a great way to keep intercessory prayer in our daily lives.

    Be holy.

  4. That’s too cool. I teach 7th and 8th grade CCD, and when I read this, I knew I’d be sharing it with them!

    You too!

  5. This is great.

  6. This is awesome! Thanks for sharing it!

  7. I will try your idea. I like to pray from the Bible.
    I like to pray during what everybody likes to call “Worship”.
    I like to pray while I am driving.
    I like to pray when I am talking to people.
    I like to pray unceasingly, which I have difficulty doing.

    I left another message on your Pendulum post.
    Your comments at peak9 Without Politicians have been to the point and Biblical; thank you for your reasoning.
    I want to invite you to read my newest post on conscience at:

    http://skunnydroppings.wordpress.com/.

    I would appreciate your comments.

  8. Speaking of to the point,
    I left the wrong URL although I like Selena’s blog as well.

    My blog is at:
    http://riggword.wordpress.com/

    “Sorry about that Chief!”

  9. Rigg,
    Yes, there are many ways to pray. Sometimes we have “a sweet hour of prayer” other times maybe just a minute or second. I too like to pray, from the Bible, when I’m driving…and even when I’m posting on my blog, or making a comment elsewhere in blogland!

    Thanks for the comment and the invite!

  10. I have never seen or heard this. Thanks for posting.

  11. It was new to me too. And at the risk of being “punny”, I told my 7th and 8th graders “this prayer would come in handy!” 🙂

  12. nice post… i will keep that in mind everytime i pray…

  13. I really like this, Tim! May I repost it at Manna?

    God’s blessings,
    Janice

  14. Yes Janice, please do.

    Blessings to you also.

Leave a Reply

