Have No Fear, True Love Is Here


This is how we know that we remain in Him and He in us, that He has given us of His Spirit. Moreover, we have seen and testfiy that the Father sent His Son as Savior of the World. Whoever acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God remains in him and he in God. We have come to know and to believe in the love God has for us. God is love, and whoever remains in love remains in God and God in him. In this is love brought to perfection among us, that we have confidence on the day of judgement because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear because fear has to do with punishment, and so one who fears is not yet perfect in love. We love because He first loved us. If anyone says,”I love God,” but hates his brother, he is a liar; for whoever does not love a brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. This is the commandment we have from Him: whoever loves God must also love his brother.   I John 4:13-21   

There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear.

The word “perfect” here speaks of maturity, a completeness and it is this love (mature love) that drives out fear. Like water poured in a glass drives out the air that occupied it, so is God’s love poured out in our hearts until fear is driven out of our lives.

The primary meaning seems to be that we will not fear God’s judgement if we live in His love and His love lives in us. So how does His love manifest itself in us?

In our love for others.

What does this have to do with fear? Let’s ask ourselves three questions:

1) Why do we not share our faith with our neighbors/ family?

2) Why do we not pray before meals at a resturant?

3) Why do we tolerate sin and not confront it?

The answer is fear. Why are we so afraid of what people may say to us or about us? Have we forgotten Matt. 5:11 or Matt. 10:28?

Fear is a basic human emotion toward danger. Why do we sense danger in loving others as Christ loves others? Because we see what happened to Jesus when He loved others.

Rejection, humiliation, degradation and crucifixion, not a list of things to get excited about. But these are the kinds of things we may face, as we love as Jesus loves.

We should not be afraid of others, we should be afraid for others!

So this week, let’s share our faith with a neighbor or co-worker. Let’s pray without fear/shame in public and confront the sin that we tolerate in our own lives, particularly the sin of fear that keeps us from loving others as Christ loves.

Amen.

6 Responses

  1. Like water poured in a glass drives out the air that occupied it, so is God’s love poured out in our hearts until fear is driven out of our lives.

    Great example. You’re so right about fear… I don’t fear so much praying at meals in public. But I do find it difficult to share my faith with others. The blogosphere makes it easy because I don’t have to suffer at the hands of those close to me. But I can’t even say the simplest things to my parents anymore and they’re CHRISTIANS!

    Co-workers are a whole other story. I think about things to say/do, but when I’m met with the slightest confrontation, I run. This is definitely one of my weaknesses.

    This was a thoughtful post, Tim… and I’m going to take it to heart and find a way to apply it to my life.

    God bless.

  2. Amber, every week I write these reflections, I look at myself and say, “How can you teach this before you do it better?” God pushes me toward growth, through what He allows me to share here with others. Hopefully, everyday I get a little better applying it to my life.
    Thanks for your kind words, they really encourage me.
    His blessings to you and the family as well.

  3. Been thinking a lot about fear and love lately so your post grabbed my attention. God keeps saying to me that the answer to my fears is to rest in His love for me, to trust that He loves me and has my best interests at heart. If I would do this in each and every circumstance in my life I can only imagine how His love would flow in and through me to others.

  4. Well said Amy.I’m sorry the Retreat wasn’t all that you hoped for, but I’m glad God ministered to you and Scott where you all needed it.
    Blessings to you both.

  5. Tim,

    You said, “How can you teach this before you do it better?”

    I can completely relate. I’ll hear myself tell someone something or I’ll write something and think, “I MUST apply this in my own life, in my own home, with my own children.” Actually following through is so much more challenging than talking about it.

    I find that I have to make small changes if I am ever to make any change at all. Trying to make a big change in one swoop will often end up in failure!

    THIS is why faith is a process and not just a one-time event. We are always striving for the next step toward holiness and there’s ALWAYS room for growth.

    God bless you!

  6. Amber, you are right on!
    One thing at a time, working toward holiness.
    Amen!

Leave a Reply

