In Deed And In Truth


But whoever has this worlds goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him? My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth. And by this we know that we are of the truth, and shall assure our hearts before Him for if our hearts condemn us, God is greater than our hearts, and knows all things. Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God.             I John 3:17-21 

How does the love of God abide in anyone who refuses to help his brother who is in need? The answer is simple…..it doesn’t!

God, who being love Himself, imparts this grace to love as He loves, to His children. For He created all people and we were all created in His image and His likeness. Scripture itself testifies of Him, it is,”…His will that none should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” (II Pet. 3:9)

Why do we have such a hard time understanding this? Or do we understand it, but not act upon our understanding? We can know truth in our minds and deny it, but, if we know the truth in our hearts, isn’t it harder to deny?

This is what St. Paul described in I Cor. 5:14, as “the love of God that impels us”. God’s love is not a dormant love. It is a call to action. Love impels us to do something!

Years ago, when I fell in love with my wife, I was impelled to do something for her, with the love I felt toward her. To marry her, to commit my life to her and to make her happy. Now, I haven’t always done this perfectly, but nonetheless, it was and continues to be, what love impels me to do for her.

God’s love impels Him to do things as well. His love for us, impelled Him to send His Son to die for our redemption. Love is not just a noun, it’s also a verb!

So this is the point, to love as God loves, I must act upon the needs of the people around me. If I close my heart to those around me, what shall become of me?

Amen, I say to you, what you did not do for one of these least ones, you did not do for me. And these will go off to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.    Matt. 25:45-46  

So this week, let us let the love of Christ impel us to love others as Christ loves, and see Christ in our neighbors.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

