Book ’em, Dano!


Besides the Bob Dylan cd, my family (and friends) gave me some great books this Christmas. I thought I would share them with you.

Catholic and Christian by Alan Schreck:It was written in 1984 but is an excellent resource to help explain misunderstood Catholic beliefs. He( Mr. Schreck) was (and may still be) an associate professor of theology at Franciscan University of Steubenville in Ohio.

A Father Who Keeps His Promises; Hail,Holy Queen; First Comes Love by Scott Hahn:Written in 1998,2001 and 2002. Dr. Hahn is a convert to Catholocism from the pulpit of the Presbyterian tradition. He is also a professor of theology and scripture at the Franciscan University of Steubenville. He is also the Founder and President of the St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology. I have also read his conversion story, Rome Sweet Home, written with his wife Kimberly. At this time I’ve read Hail, Holy Queen and I’m half-way through First Comes Love. A Father Who Keeps His Promises is about God’s Covenant love in Scripture. Hail, Holy Queen is about the Mother of God in the Word of God, and First Comes Love is about finding your family in the Church and the Trinity.

The last two I received, I found myself, at a little flea market in south Alabama while visiting my father.

Life Is Worth Living: First and Second Series; Lift Up Your Heart by Fulton J. Sheen.He’s a bit deep but he is able to simplify and make sense of the heavier doctrines. These were written in 1955 and 1952.

Just thought I’d share this with everyone. Happy reading and God bless!

6 Responses

  1. Catholic and Christian makes a good read. Enjoy!
    God bless
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  2. Books are always wonderful Christmas presents. This year, for Christmas, I was given mostly books, which made me very happy.

    “Catholic and Christian” sounds like an interesting book.

    Enjoy your books! 🙂

    -Kelsey

  3. I just got “Hail, Holy Queen” myself… though I have many books ahead of it on my reading list! I’m building quite a little library, however, and I look forward to reading and growing with each book!

  4. Sheen’s Lift Up Your Heart is very, very good. A great introduction to the basics of Catholic spirituality.

    You’ll enjoy it.

    – Jeff

  5. Enjoy your reading, Tim 🙂

  6. I loved Bishop Sheen as many other Catholics, Christians, and non-Christians, some skeptics, and a few non-believers,
    who later believed. I believe that God allowed men to invent radio, TV, internet, and ipods, in order for men, women,
    and children to share in the faith. I was wondering how many people have been on theinternet on http://www.TheHolyRosary.org.
    If you haven’t been there ever, it is really a beautiful website. You can even leave petitions for others to pray for
    if you want.

    I enjoyed watching his show as a youngster and I enjoy them even more today! A lot of times, you have to really listen
    to Bishop Fulton J. Sheen when he comes on EWTN. To get an hour and a half of religious thought in only 25 minutes, sometimes you have to have complete quiet. Sometimes his jokes are really funny but they are so clean, which is amazing to find these days!

Leave a Reply

