The Old Law in The New Covenant


What then? Shall we sin because we are not under the law but under grace? Of course not! Do you not know that if you present yourselves to someone as obedient slaves you are slaves of the one you obey, either of sin, which leads to death, or of obedience which leads to righteousness?  Rom. 6:15-16 

St.Paul, here states the function of the law (of the Old Covenant) with grace (of the New Covenant). He starts out by asking the ridiculous question,”Shall we sin because we are not under the law but under grace? Of course not!” Without the guidelines of the law, how would we know God’s qualifications of righteousness? God didn’t design salvation for His people to be obscure, but founded upon obedience. That is what Paul goes on to say,”if you present yourselves to someone as obedient slaves you are slaves of the one you obey. So that is the question. Who are we going to obey?

“According to Christian tradition, the Law is holy, spiritual, and good,(Rom. 7:12,14,16) yet still imperfect. Like a tutor(Gal 3:24) it shows what must be done, but does not of itself give the strength, the grace of the Spirit, to fulfill it. Because of sin, which it cannot remove, it remains a law of bondage. According to St.Paul, its special function is to denounce and disclose sin, which constitutes a “law of concupiscence” in the human heart.(Rom.7) However, the Law remains the first stage on the way to the kingdom. It prepares and disposes the chosen people and each Christian for conversion and faith in the Savior God. It provides a teaching which endures for ever, like the Word of God.” CCC 1963

One last thought; Paul in Ephesians 6:2, quotes one of the Ten Commandments as if it was to still be adhered to. One of those things I’ve read a thousand times, and I just came to realize.

The law is still to be followed, for it is the Word of God.

Amen.

5 Responses

  1. Yes, the question is, who are we going to serve? It reminds me of Bob Dylan’s song “Gotta Serve Somebody,” “Well, it may be the devil, or it may be the Lord, but you gotta serve somebody.”

    I love those verses in Romans you quoted. They not only show the beauty of grace, but also that it’s not something to be abused.

    This is probably a stupid question, but what is the “CCC?”

    -Kelsey

  2. Kelsey, First of all, I am a Bob Dylan fanatic! And I love that song. I have about 30 of his Cd’s, and play a lot of his songs on the guitar in my leisure time. So thanks for bringing him up, that’s just too cool!

    Asking what the CCC is, is not a stupid question. It’s the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

    His blessings to you this day!

  3. How funny! I didn’t know you liked Bob Dylan. I enjoy Bob Dylan, but I’m a Beatle fanatic myself. I’d love to go to Liverpool someday.:D

    Thank you for answering my question. I’d tried to figure out what it could stand for, but really had no idea.

    -Kelsey

  4. I like the Beatles as well. Once, a friend of mine said of me and the songs I had written; “You’re like the Christian John Lennon.” I thought that was pretty cool.

  5. That’s a very nice complement. John Lennon is my personal favorite of The Beatles, but Paul McCartney is a close second.

    -Kelsey

Leave a Reply

