Our Guide to All Truth


But when He comes, the Spirit of truth, He will guide you to all truth. He will not speak on His own, but He will speak what He hears, and will declare to you the things that are coming.   John 16:13  (NAB)

In our attempt to understand “What is Truth” we’ve seen that; scripture says that God’s word and His laws and commandments are truth (Jn. 17:17, Ps. 119:142, 151), that Jesus Himself is the truth (Jn. 14:6), and the Church is the pillar and foundation of the truth (I Tim. 3:15) Now we will learn of the Spirit of truth.

The Holy Spirit is given to all true believers in Christ. In the brief description above, we see, one of the duties of the Holy Spirit, is to ” lead and guide us to all truth.” With so many denominations, preachers, faith- healers and teachers proclaiming ” truth” that differs from one to another, what’s one to believe?

When one only has partial truth, then truth becomes distorted. Though based on truth, it may retain some truth, but the fullness is laking. Truth has a four-fold purpose:

  1.  structure
  2.  direction
  3.  purpose
  4. information

If a truth lacks any of these four dimensions then it is most likely not to be true to the fullest extent.

Since most of us agree that Jesus and the Bible are truth, let’s look at the controversial subject of the Church as truth. What I’ve come to understand is this: The Catholic Church has been around a lot longer than the rest have, has taught the same thing from it’s beginning. Other denominations cling to the Catholic Church’s definition of the Holy Trinity and Christ being fully God and fully man (things not found in the Scripture) and denies the Eucharist and Holy Matrimony as Sacraments (things that are in the scripture!)

 What this all means is simple, and yet, complex. What we have is; Jesus as truth, revealed by the Holy Spirit. The Church as truth, lead by the Holy Spirit, and the Scripture as truth, interpreted by the Holy Spirit. These dynamics working together form  the triangle of truth. Each point is connected by the work of the Holy Spirit.

If there is only one God, then why so many different interpretations of scripture? Is it because what was established from the beginning, has been altered, ignored or worse yet, rejected?

 Take a look and study the history of the early Church, you will see that what the Church taught in years past, is what the Catholic Church still teaches today.

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today and forever.  Heb.13:8   (NAB)  

Amen.

10 Responses

  1. Beautifully said! I think many Christians have gone so long picking and choosing what they like and don’t like instead of staying focused on the elements of truth that Christ established. It’s caused even Christianity to become entirely too liberal. If you don’t like this church, try another, until you have the perfect combination of cafeteria-style faith under your own authority.

    I’m SO thankful Christ has called me home…

  2. Ah.. another post. I’ve been waiting for it! 😉

    God bless
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  3. We had picked and chosen, as Protestants, because that is what our fore-father Martin Luther did, then Zwingli, Calvin, Knox and the rest. But I see a danger in Catholicism too, as being subject to “protestant thinking”, that is, disreguarding the Church’s teaching and following my own interpretation of what scripture says, or even what “I” think the Church should teach.

    Something just came to me….When the people murmured against Moses, God said they were murmuring against Himself. If we murmur against the Pope, the Church, or the Magisterium, wouldn’t that equate to the same thing?

  4. I would imagine it would be the same… And it’s funny you mention that too because I have heard people reject certain things the Church teaches because they simply disagree, which they’re entitled to but I don’t think they realize that they are disagreeing with something established by God.

  5. One of my professors at the University of Dallas was fond of saying that the same Holy Spirit who inspiried the authors of Scripture, is the same Holy Spirit who guides the Church, is the same Holy Spirit who is given to us at Baptism; thus, the unity of faith.

    This notion has profound consequence. You correctly pointed out the unity between Christ, Scripture, and the Church.

    For me, however, it was the unity between Scripture and the Church’s interpretation. Contemporary biblical studies is in a mess, as you probably know, and once I saw the unity between Scripture and its interpretation by the Church is the Holy Spirit, I was able to fully embrace the Church’s interpreation of Scripture. No longer did I make the silly claim, as Fr. Raymond Brown used to make, between “what the Bible meant” and “what he Bible means.”

    I might have to write a post on this.

    Anyway, good job. I only wish you were able to write more frequently.

    In Christ,
    Jeff

  6. Tim, I am on an extremely difficult internet connection in a foreign country, but since you have made this post and raised a question, I would like to take my time and write about why I am not catholic. That is to be read as “why I am neither anti-catholic nor pro-catholic, in fact not catholic at all”. It will get long and will probably not be appropriate as a comment on your blog, so I will notify you when I make such a post on my own blog, Lord willing sometime next week.
    God bless you,
    Diana 🙂

  7. Thanks, Jeff. And I’ll look forward to reading that post.
    They are always informative and insightful.

    Diana, I look forward to reading yours also. Because I too, wasn’t Catholic until I was Confirmed just this year. I had studied for the previous 2 years, Church history, Early Church Fathers and their writings and read and studied the Catechism of the Catholic Church along with scripture. The closer I grew in my relationship with Christ, the more He drew me to His Church.
    God really challenged me, at the beginning of this process, by asking me,”Tim, why do you believe what you believe?”.

  8. Hello! How you doing?

    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  9. Maria, I’m just fine thank you! How are you?

  10. Amen, brother!

    I am visiting each blog I link to today to share a hug…have one from me! xx

Leave a Reply

