Call to Missions


I am sure we are all familiar with the “Great Commission” in Matthew’s gospel (28:19-20) but maybe we need to be reminded of another mission. This mission is also found in Matthew’s gospel chapter 25:35-40.

I have read the passage many times and thought, ‘Oh, that’s nice, feed the hungry, give drink to the thirsty, welcome a stranger, clothe the naked, care for the sick, visit the prisoner.’ In studying the scriptures, I like to pull out personal application using God’s word to help me grow into who I need to (and who God wants me to) be. I am ashamed to say that I have not always applied this scripture to my life.

This confronted me hard last night, as my family and I, went to our church and sat, ate and talked with three different families, all who have lost their homes and had nowhere else to stay. Family Promise, is a non-denominational group that exists to help families in bad situations get back on their feet. At times it was awkward, for obvious and various reasons, not the least of which was I was the only male there. I watched the children (theirs and ours) play together and have fun making new friends and the adults had an ear to bend if they needed and/or some time to themselves as well.

So the question is: How is it that I can support some missionary task, half a world away or even the next state, but I’ve ignored the mission field outside my front door? I am not against foreign missions, we need them, but what about our responsibility for our community? If we can’t change a life across the street for Jesus, what makes us think we can change one across the world?

Jesus calls us to be (get) involved. We don’t have to do everything, just something.

Thank you Father, for allowing me to be changed by your Spirit and your word and by the love you have for others. May I never forget this experience and continue in Christ’s work, until He comes in glory. And may all who read this, be touched by your Holy Spirit, to be doers of the word and not hearers only. Amen.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

