The Narrow Gate


Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the road broad that leads to destruction, and those who enter through it are many. How narrow the gate and constricted the road that leads to life. And those who find it are few.  Matt.7:13-14  

Jesus now starts contrasting the two kinds of life within the Christian community, those who obey His words with those who don’t.

As clearly stated in the passage, there are two choices for us to consider; the narrow or the wide. There are choices to be made everyday. There is no one time choice. I may choose the narrow way today and not feel like choosing the narrow way tomorrow. I may choose to love my neighbor today and choose to hate him tomorrow.

Let me get personal here; when I was fifteen years old, I had a powerful conversion experience. I had prayed a prayer and ask Jesus into my heart, to be the Lord and Savior of my life. I was baptized and I was on fire for God. I wanted to share the good news with everyone and I did! I was not ashamed, scared or embarrassed of Jesus, how could I be, after what He’d done for me! Weeks and months went by and my fire started to die. I didn’t know how to rekindle that fire. I was going to church, Sunday school, I even went to a Christian school at the time, but I was dying inside.(This is the reason discipleship is so close to my heart.) I was not being discipled, and the church was failing me, and I was young, I didn’t know what to do or where to go. So I gave up! “If this is all it is, I’ll do without it!” At that moment, I chose the broad way. I decided to walk away from God, just as I had decided to ask Jesus to be my Lord and Savior the year before. What changed? Did God change? Certainly not! I did! I chose to leave God as the prodigal son chose to leave his father. His father’s grace was never removed, just rejected. My Father’s grace was never removed, I had only rejected it. Ten years later, in His mercy, I said yes to His grace…. again.

And Jesus said to all,” If any man would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”  Luke 9:23 

A daily walk with daily decisions to make. Today, let’s choose Christ!

Amen.

One Response

  1. Revision of truth. I needed it today 🙂 thank you again!

Leave a Reply

