The “good” shepherd.


I am the good shepherd. John 10:11

I learned from our pastor today that the word "good" translated in this text, is actually the word for beautiful.

The word kalos is the Greek word that means beautiful but chiefly, valuable or virtuous for appearance or use. That distinguishes itself from the Greek word agathos which simply means good in any sense.

What does this have to do with anything? Well for me it changes my understanding of what this passage was truely saying. This beautiful shepherd, Jesus, gives us the beautiful model of a shepherd. The good/beautiful shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

We, as disciples of the good shepherd, are called to do precisley that! John says the same thing in his first letter, chapter 3 verse 16: The way we came to know love was that He laid down His life for us; so we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.

I guess the big thing was tying these two things together. Jesus as our model. He laid down His life for me, what do I do in return? I lay down my life for my brothers.

Once again, God's word penetrated my soul and spirit and discerned the thoughts of my heart.

Thank you, Father Tokarz, for teaching the scriptures in the authority of Christ, and challenging me to grow ever deeper in my faith.

Leave a Reply

