Blessed are they who are persecuted…


Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you [falsely] because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven. Thus they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matt.5: 10-12.

As stated in an earlier study (hunger and thirst) righteousness is actively doing the will of God. There may be some things that I may not be sure are God's will, such as, should I drive a Ford or a Chevy, rent or buy a home, drink Pepsi or Coke. Some may require much prayer. I do know however, His will for all of us. To obey all he has commanded (Matt.28:20)

So if I'm doing God's will, I'm going to be persecuted? You bet you are! First and foremost we can look at Jesus, who came to do the will of the Father and paid the ultimate price of persecution.  Sacred Scripture also warns us as His disciples, we shouldn't be surprised by it (1 Peter 4:12, Matt. 10:22).

Maybe some will ask the question, " Why am I not being persecuted?" For that I would say, look deep in your heart, get honest with God and pray " not my will, but Yours be done."

If we are truly on the narrow way of life eternal, maybe things won't be so smooth. All of us who have been called to follow Jesus are told to pick up our cross and follow, or we are not worthy of Him. As we share in the fellowship of His sufferings (Phil.3:10) we have His promise," Blessed are you".

2 Responses

  1. I think I have always viewed persecution as an outward thing, as something another person would do to me or a way that they might treat me because of my faith. More often than not for me though the persecution has been an invisible, internal war that rages between the Spirit and Truth and the enemy who only wants to kill and destroy me.
    The lies that the enemy has spoken to me over the years so often screamed much louder than the (little) faith I had until I eventually believed that I was beyond worthless, beyond anything God would ever want to do with me. I believed the lies and I acted and spoke out of what I believed.
    Satan has spoken many lies to me over the years – my biggest persecution has come from him and then from myself through him…..However, the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ has spoken every spiritual blessing in Christ over my life in the the heavenly realms! (Eph 1)
    My point being that persecution isn’t always visible, external acts against us by other people – sometimes it is an internal persecution driven by the greatest persecutor and enemy of our soul.
    I Love you

  2. You bring up a very good point, but I think “we” have just defined two different things with the same word.Persecution by definition seems to imply an outside influence, though you could discribe the inner turmoil as self persecution.I would define what you discribed as self condemnation.Both are instruments of the devil,one pits us against the world, the other, pits us against ourselves.The common denominator is us being harassed.
    The blessing Jesus gives us in this beatitude,is from the perseverance of outside persecution, insult, slander.
    He certianly knows all the turmoil we face (inwardly and outwardly)and gives us the grace and power to overcome them all through His blood.
    I Love you, too!

Leave a Reply

