Blessed are the clean of heart…


Blessed are the clean of heart, for they shall see God. Matt. 5:8

Clean, Pure; To be free from dirt or defilement. Defile; corrupt.

Blessed is the person whose heart is not dirty or corrupt. If our heart is clean, our life will be clean.

How can I tell if I have a clean heart? Easy. You can tell by what you do, and why you do it.

This is the difference between the disciple and the Pharisee, and how a disciples righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees. The motivation for what we do, not just what we do.

Remember the Pharisees liked to receive men's praise, and Jesus said they received their reward. Their reward was the praise they received, and to receive that praise, was their motivation. Our motivation however, should be the reward of the praise of Jesus, "Well done good and faithful servant." Matt. 25:21.

Jesus also reminds us that, what comes out of the mouth comes from the heart and that is what defiles a man. Matt. 15:18

The evil motivations of the heart lead to evil actions but, the clean of heart shall see God.

3 Responses

  1. You know when I hear the song, “Give Us Clean Hands”, I always wonder, why should I pray for God to give me clean hands and a clean heart. He didn’t give me dirty hands nor a dirty heart. That is what I chose. So I must choose to clean my own hands and heart by meditating on His word and taking captive every thought. I know that only the blood of Christ can truly make me clean but I agree that I have the responsibility to focus on God and to mature in my knowledge of His ways and to pattern my life after His as closely as any human can while being guided by His Holy Spirit.

  2. I was afraid that the comment button was broken!
    Thanks for your perspective on this. Our responsibility in our spiritual journey is something I don’t recall hearing preached much. I think, we tend to think God does all the work, and we don’t have to do any. If that is so, what are us Christians still doing here?
    Making disciples, baptizing, teaching (Matt.28:19-20), sounds like major responsibility to me, and we need to live up to it. Yes, it is the Holy Spirit that empowers us, but we must be willing to accept it.
    Thanks again, Dolan.

  3. I was sexually, mentally, emotionally and verbally abused by my grandfather as far back as I can remember. He did many terrible things, some of which are too distasteful for me to talk about publicly. I want to share my testimony, because so many people have been hurt, and they need to realize that someone has made it through their struggles so they can have hope. More than anything, I want you to know and really understand that anyone who has been abused can fully recover if they will give their life completely to the Lord…It may seem impossible, but God’s truth has set me free from a life of pretense and lies and has restored my soul. I am living proof that nothing is too hard for God. No matter what you’ve been through or how bad you’ve been hurt, there is hope!
    My book is available at Amazon and I would love for each person who has liked this page to order a copy. Each copy sold will go toward the prevention of child abuse across the country and world. To order a copy of, The Little Girl Inside, go to dianewaltman.com God Bless you

Leave a Reply

