Blessed are they who mourn…


Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted. Matt. 5:4

Those who allow themselves to be distracted by things, as stated last week, are rarely as in touch  with their need for God, as those who suffer or mourn. Jesus, addressing the crowd of disciples, knows they can relate to poverty and mourning, it surrounded them every day. Yet Jesus promises that they will indeed be comforted.

What should we mourn about?  I believe it is sin. Personal and social.

First, if we can’t grieve over our own personal sin and repent, turning back to God, then mourning over social sins will be impossible! When was the last time we prayed for the conversion of an abortion doctor, a homosexual, a drug addict?  When was the last time we prayed or displayed God’s love to any of these people ? And yet, every above mentioned sin has an effect on each one of us.

I had a huge disconnect with this, until recently. I used to think my personal sin, effected no one but myself. But I was wrong. My personal sin effects my family, friends and faith community all, at one level or another. We are the people of God, His family, if I suffer we all suffer, if I am honored we all rejoice (1 Cor. 12:26).

If I cannot mourn over social sins and pray for God’s grace, and actively offer God’s grace to this fallen world, then I need to go back  to the first beatitude and recognize who I am before God.

2 Responses

  1. ‘blessed are thet that mourn for they will be comforted”- to me shows us what posture we should be in. It was the posture that christ was in. This includes our own sin to repent of and also the sin of the world unrepented of. There are souls that need to be brought into the kingdom so we ought to stay in a posture to win as many as we can. The confort includes salvation, refreshing, even the coming of the Lord. Whatever comfort there is, we wil experience it if we keep this posture.

  2. I really enjoyed your comments on this topic “blessed are they that mourn” and thoroughly agree that “If I cannot mourn over social sins and pray for God’s grace, and actively offer God’s grace to this fallen world, then I need to go back to the first beatitude and recognize who I am before God” Very good! I have written an article about the First Beatitude and would appreciate any comments about it. (The other Beatitiudes will follow soon, hopefully.) Anyway, here’s the article if you would like to read it sometime: http://jbutzu.wordpress.com/2009/05/10/the-first-beatitude/.

    Thanks again.
    John

Leave a Reply

